Kevin Beatty Elected Second Vice President of WAN-IFRA

Kevin Beatty, CEO of dmg media, was elected to the position of second vice president of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) and is now second in line of succession to WAN IFRA president Tomas Brunegård, following New York Times vice chairman Michael Golden.

Mr Beatty was elected by WAN-IFRA members during the General Assembly of Members held alongside the organization’s World News Media Congress, World Editors Forum and World Advertising Forum in Cartagena, Colombia. Over 700 participants, publishers, editors and senior news executives from around the world attended the events in Cartagena.

At the same meeting, eight executives from leading news media companies were elected to the Board of WAN-IFRA.

The newly appointed Board members are:Rolf Dyrnes Svendsen, Editor, Adresseavisen, Norway;Petru Macovei, representing AsociaĊ£ia Presei Independente, Moldova;Francisco Javier Moll de Miguel, President, Editorial Prensa Ibérica, Spain; Carlo Perrone, Vice President, Itedi, representing the European Newspaper Publishers’ Association, Italy; Daniel Van Wylick, Groupe Chief Editorial Officer, Groupe Rossel, representing, Belgium;Mari Velsand, Executive Vice President, Amedia, (MBL), Norway; Fernando de Yarza López-Madrazo, Board Member, Grupo Heraldo de Aragon, representing News Media Europe, Spain.