Royal Rota Photography Competition Shortlist Revealed

The shortlisted entries of this year’s News Media Association Royal Rota photography competition have been announced following a public vote. 

Last week, thousands of votes were cast in the public vote from a showcase of 48 of the best photographs from Royal and political rota events from the past year.

The competition has been covered by titles including The Sun, MailOnline, Blackpool Gazette, News and Star, Forbes and the Maidenhead Advertiser.   

 Rota Comp Shortlist

 The top three pictures in each category have been sent to panel of expert judges who will then pick a winner in each category as well as an overall winner. 

National Newspaper Rota Photo of the Year
Arthur Edwards (The Sun)
Ian Vogler (Daily Mirror)
Philip Ide (Mail on Sunday)

Regional/Local Newspaper Rota Photo of the Year
Ian Longthorne (Maidenhead Advertiser)
Jason Bryant (Western Gazette)
Stuart Walker (News & Star)

Rota Picture Agency Rota Photo of the Year
Andrew Matthews (PA Media)
Dominic Lipinski (PA Media)
Tim Rooke (Shutterstock Editorial)

The panel of expert judges consists of :   

  • Alan Sparrow, chairman of the UK Picture Editors Guild;
  • Lindsey Parnaby, The British Press Photographers’ Association chairman;
  • Lynne Anderson, NMA deputy chief executive;
  • Martin Keene, Press Association group picture editor;
  • Dr Michael Pritchard, Director, Education and Public Affairs, The Royal Photographic Society.

The competition winners will then be announced in early October.

The competition was launched by the NMA to promote the outstanding work of photographers in the local, regional and national news media and the NMA’s media facilities services for members which includes managing the Royal Rota – the system for covering Royal engagements and pooling material.