Shortlists Announced for Society of Editors Press Awards

Shortlists for The Society of Editors Press Awards celebrating the best of UK national journalism have been announced with The Sunday Times leading the nominations league table.

The Society of Editors Press Awards for national newspapers recognise reporters and correspondents, commentators, columnists, cartoonists, designers, photographers, scoops, investigations and campaigns.  The awards culminate with the news and sports teams of the year and newspaper of the year title.

There are 30 categories including the Journalists’ Charity Award, the Cudlipp Award and the Georgina Henry Women in Journalism Prize for Innovation, in memory of the former deputy editor of The Guardian. A shortlist will be announced by the WIJ at the end of the month.

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the London, Hilton Park Lane Hotel on 22 March with the awards presented once again by LBC Radio presenter Nick Ferrari. Proceeds from the awards help to fund the Society of Editors’ campaigning for media freedom and the Journalists’ Charity.

Chairman of the judges Bob Satchwell, Society of Editors executive director, said: “The awards are judged by panels of newspaper representatives and respected independent figures from the media and beyond.

“It is a huge pleasure and privilege for the judges to examine and discuss the range, diversity and vitality of national journalism. Their combined qualities are unparalleled in the world.”