Mark Lund Appointed New Asbof Chairman

Mark Lund OBE, McCann Worldgroup UK chief executive, has been appointed chairman of the Advertising Standards Board of Finance and the Broadcast Advertising Standards Board of Finance. 

He will start in June 2019, when Sir Chris Powell, who has been in the role for the past nine years, will be standing down.

Asbof/basbof collects an arms-length levy from advertisers to fund the Advertising Standards Authority, guaranteeing the regulator’s independence.  The ASA receives no Government funding, meaning its work is free to the tax payer.

Mark Lund said “Self-regulation is one of the cornerstones of advertising’s role as a crucial and vibrant part of the UK creative industries.  As someone who cares a great deal about its future I’m delighted to be taking this role on.”

Lord Black, chair of the Nominations Committee, said “We are thrilled that Mark has accepted the invitation of the asbof and basbof Boards to become our chairman.  From a very strong field, Mark – who has a fantastic background in the industry and a deep understanding of the issues affecting us – was the exceptional candidate.  We look forward very much to working with him, as he builds on and takes forward the great achievements of Chris Powell.”

Sir Chris Powell, outgoing chairman, said: “I’m delighted that advertising’s self-regulation, which is so important to both consumer trust and advertising success, will be led by someone with such broad advertising, marketing and public sector experience.”

Guy Parker, ASA chief executive, said: “Advertisers’ funding of regulation ensures high standards, safeguarding the industry’s reputation and keeping the public’s trust.  Support from the industry will be key to delivering our new five-year strategy of achieving even more impact online.  Mark Lund’s experience, reputation and long-standing commitment to the ASA system mean he’s terrifically placed to help us achieve that vision.”

At the confirmation meeting, the asbof/basbof Board congratulated and thanked Sir Chris Powell for his nine years of service.