Deadline Looms For Regional Press Awards Entries

The deadline for the Society of Editors Regional Press Awards – including the News Media Association’s new award for young journalists – is on Tuesday.

This year’s awards, recognising editorial excellence during 2018, include several new categories looking to reward innovation and performance in the digital and data-driven areas of the modern regional newsroom. 

The awards include The Cathryn Nicoll Award set up by the NMA in memory of Cathryn Nicoll who held the position of news editor at the Croydon Advertiser during her career as a journalist and carries a £500 prize.

Cathryn was known for her passionate belief in journalistic standards and training, and the new award will highlight and reward brilliant interviewing and feature writing by young journalists.

The award, announced as part of the Regional Press Awards call for entries, is open to any journalist working for a weekly or daily local or regional newspaper published in the UK, who is aged between 18 and 25.

Also in the programme is Local Media Works’ Making a Difference online public vote for the best campaign.

Society of Editors’ executive director Ian Murray said: “Anyone who works in regional and local newspapers today understands that their papers will be making full use of the latest data-driven information and presenting it in ever more imaginative and innovative ways.

“That’s why the Regional Press Awards this year include such new categories as Data Journalist of the Year that seeks to reward the fantastic work being done to interpret the wealth of data available, bringing important information to local readers that helps them make decisions that affect their lives.”

Entries for the Regional Press Awards can be made here where this year there is renewed focus on digital journalism excellence.

The Society of Editors, supported by Camelot since 2001, organises the awards on behalf of the industry and they are made possible by the support of several sponsors including Cision, Google, Foot Anstey, HoldtheFrontPage, the NMA and the Press Association.

The awards, hosted by LBC’s Nick Ferrari, will take place at IET London, Savoy Place on  17 May.